New Braunfels Utilities offer a variety of programs encouraging its customers to make their homes more energy efficiency. Rebates are available for washing machines, air conditioners, heat pumps, strategically placed drought tolerant shade trees, LED exit signs, and window film. All equipment requirements must be met in order to receive rebates. Washing machines must be rated CEE Tier 3 or better to receive the $100 rebate. Applications are located on the program website. Contact New Braunfels Utilities for additional information on this program.
New Braunfels Utilities offers a rebate for residential customers who purchase and install solar water heating systems on eligible homes. A rebate of the equivalent of $0.265 per kWh is available to these customers. The maximum rebate amount is $900 for participating customers. Applicants must have an active residential electric service account with NBU in order to be eligible. Solar water heaters must preheat water for an electric water heater that is permanently installed and is the main water heating source.
The Texas Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) of 1999 included a provision that "a customer is entitled to have access to on-site distributed generation". As a result, the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) adopted interconnection standards in 1999. The rules apply to electrical generating facilities (consisting of one or more on-site distributed-generation units) located at a customer's point of delivery, with a maximum capacity of 10 megawatts (MW) and connected at a voltage less than 60 kilovolts (kV).
'''''Note: Postings for applications occur annually in April and October. Visit the Texas State Energy Conservation Office LoanSTAR [http://www.seco.cpa.state.tx.us/ls/ web site] for additional details.'''''
'''''Note: The Federal Housing Financing Agency (FHFA) issued a [http://www.fhfa.gov/webfiles/15884/PACESTMT7610.pdf statement] in July 2010 concerning the senior lien status associated with most PACE programs. In response to the FHFA statement, most local PACE programs have been suspended until further clarification is provided. '''''
Magic Valley Electric Cooperative's (MVEC) ENERGY STAR Builders Program offers a variety of incentives to builders of energy efficiency homes within MVEC service territory. Incentives are provided on a tiered basis according to their HERS Index rating, ensuring that homes which incorporate higher structural efficiency and equipment measures receive greater incentives than homes which meet baseline requirements. Home builders must complete and submit an online ENERGY STAR Partnership Agreement if they are not currently a registered ENERGY STAR Partner.
Magic Valley Electric Cooperative's Value Incentive Program (VIP) offers consumers incentives for the installation of new central heat pump systems, dual fuel heating systems, central air conditioners, water heaters and heat pump water heaters in single family homes. The rebate varies depending on the equipment type and efficiency rating. This rebate is not valid for new construction. MVEC also provides rebates to A/C dealers to encourage them to sell energy efficient units.
If an electric utility must construct a line extension for a customer, and the utility requires the customer to pay a Contribution in Aid to Construction (CIAC) or a pre-payment charge, or to sign a contract with a term of one year or longer, the utility must provide the customer with information about on-site renewable energy and distributed-generation (DG) technology alternatives. The information must be provided to the customer at the time of the CIAC estimate or pre-payment.
Purchases of certain energy-efficient products during Memorial Day weekend are exempt from the state sales and use tax.* This amounts to a three-day tax holiday beginning on the Saturday preceding the last Monday in May (Memorial Day) and ending on that same Monday. The state sales and use tax rate is presently 6.25%; some local jurisdictions add an additional levy of up to 2%. The state exemption applies to both the state and local portion (if one exists) of the tax.
As part of Texas’s 1999 electric utility restructuring legislation, the state’s retail electric providers are required to disclose certain information in the form of a standardized “Electricity Facts Label” to residential and small commercial customers. This label, which must be disclosed upon request, includes details regarding sources of electric generation, such as the provider’s fuel mix and emissions.